Fats Featured
Fats are required by the body for energy, for normal growth and development and to absorb vitamins such as vitamin A, D, E and K. They provide 9 calories per gram and about 20-35% of your total daily calorie intake should come from them.

Although all fats have the same amount of calories per gram, some are considered unhealthy such as saturated, trans and hydrogenated fat and should be consumed judiciously.

Following are some sources of unhealthy fat:

  • Butter.
  • Cheese.
  • Ice cream.
  • Commercially baked pastries, cookies etc.
  • Fried food.
  • Candy bars.

On the other hand, certain fats such as unsaturated fat and Omega-3 fatty acids should be consumed as part of a balanced diet.

Following are some sources of healthy fat:

  • Nuts
  • Seeds (sunflower, sesame, pumpkin)
  • Flaxseeds
  • Avocados
  • Olive oil, canola oil and safflower oil
  • Fatty fish such as salmon, tuna, trout
Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

15 + nine =

© 2016 Fitnut | Powered by : hostshop.in